Connect with us

General news

Uba Sani of APC Wins 2023 Governorship Election in Kaduna State



The Final Result

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Uba Sani, has been declared the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Kaduna State. The final result was announced at about 9 p.m. in Kaduna on Monday.

The Winner

Mr Sani was declared the winner by the Returning Officer for Kaduna State and Vice-Chancellor of the Usman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto, Lawal Bilbis. Mr Sani polled a total of 730,002 votes to defeat his closest rival, Isa Ashiru of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 719,196 votes.

The Other Candidates

The Labour Party (LP) candidate, Jonathan Asake, came a distant third with 58,283 votes while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) candidate, Suleiman Hunkuyi, scored 21,405 votes.

The Rejected Results

Earlier, the PDP had rejected the results of some local governments including Lere, saying the announced result did not tally with what was uploaded on the INEC election portal, IReV.

Overall, Uba Sani of APC has emerged as the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Kaduna State. His victory signifies a significant step towards APC’s stronghold in northern Nigeria. However, it remains to be seen how his administration will tackle the myriad of issues facing the state, including insecurity, poverty, and unemployment.



analytics analytics