Connect with us

South Africa

Steve Komphela: Sundowns revived interest in Caf competitions



Mamelodi Sundowns making Caf Champions League interesting with recent campaign

Steve Komphela insists Mamelodi Sundowns have made Caf Champions League interesting despite Orlando Pirates winning it before them. Sundowns have been Caf Champions League regulars for the past decade, winning it in the 2015/16 campaign under Pitso Mosimane, 10 years after Orlando Pirates had won it.

Komphela credits Sundowns in reviving interest in Caf competitions

Komphela believes Masandawana have revived interest in the Caf competitions in contrast to the previous years. The tactician argues not many people in South Africa fancied the continental tournaments until recently. “Credit must be given to Sundowns for being trendsetters,” Kompela told iDiski Times.

Awareness of African football increasing in South Africa

Komphela continues by saying, “When you and I and everybody found Caf competitions unfashionable, apart from Orlando Pirates who had won it before, okay we would play. Even myself I must make a confession. I was not as clued up with all the competitions and the passion to know what was happening exactly in Africa because it was just a by the way thing. But up until Sundowns turned on the volume it started to be clear and I’m sure everybody in the country understands that playing in the CAF competitions is worth doing, then you start going to the rest of the other counterparts in the league who are moving in and succeeding.”

South African teams’ success in Caf competitions

Apart from the Champions League triumphs in South Africa by Downs and Bucs, Kaizer Chiefs won the African Cup Winners’ Cup in 2001. This season, the Brazilians have already qualified for the quarter-finals and intend to go all the way. Pirates and Amakhosi are in the race to qualify for next season’s edition alongside SuperSport United.

Focus for Masandawana, Pirates, and Chiefs

While Masandawana will be playing in continental assignments this weekend, Chiefs and Pirates will be engaged in Premier Soccer League duties.




analytics analytics