Connect with us

General news

Senate Primary: Former senator, 2 others emerge APGA flag-bearers in Ebonyi



A Former Senator, Mr Emmanuel Onwe, and two other candidates have been elected as the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) flag-bearers  for the house of senate, come 2023 polls.

The former senator, represented Ebonyi Central in the Nigerian Senate from 2010 to 2011. 

Onwe is to represent Ebonyi Central Senatorial Zone, Mr Chibueze Nwadimbe, Ebonyi North and Mrs Blessing Egbedi is for Ebonyi South.

Mr Casmir Nwafor, Chairman of the Electoral Committee in the primary, said in Abakaliki on Saturday while announcing the winners, that the conduct of the exercise was credible and acceptable.

According to Nwafor, “by the power conferred on me, I, Barrister Casmir Nwafor, the Chairman of Ebonyi Primary election Committee in Ebonyi, I hereby declare Senator Onwe to fly the party’s flag come 2023.

Onwe, he said scored majority vote in the primary.

“Also elected are Mr Chibueze Nwadimbe, for Ebonyi North senatorial zone, and Mrs Blessing Egbedi, for Ebonyi South,” Nwafor explained.

The State Chairman of the party, Mr Ricky Okorouka, also hailed the conduct of the primary and urged the candidates to be focused and ensure that the party wins in 2023.

“The primary election of the candidates was done in line with the provisions of the electoral law, and guidelines released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as well as the party’s constitution.

“The Senate primary election was successful, smooth and hitch free. The party has one aspirant each in the three senatorial zones, and they emerged unopposed.

“There was no crisis, no gun shots anywhere unlike in other political parties where there is infighting and crisis,” he added.


analytics analytics