Connect with us


Maritime organisations, professionals for OMIS award



The Maritime and Offshore Award (The OMIS) is set to honour organisations and professionals who have distinguished themselves in the maritime sector.

The Chief Executive Officer of the OMIS, Mr Femi Da-silva, made this known in a statement on Tuesday in Lagos.

Da-silva said that the organisations were nominated by industry players due to their exemplary commitment to the progress of the sector.

“The commitment is via investment, community service, technology innovation, and other notable investments while impacting the environment positively.

“They all deserve to be honoured to serve as an impetus for others to make sacrificial investments and impact in the maritime sector,” he said.

He said that organisations shortlisted in different categories for the Maritime and Offshore Award (The OMIS) 2022 were Samsung Heavy Industries (SHIN), Starzs Investment, SIFAX Group and NLNG Ship Management Ltd (NLSM).

Da-silva said that others were Integrated Oil and Gas, Brisktrade, Comet Shipping, APM Terminals, OnePort365, Trucks Transit Parks Ltd., Lloyd’s Register and Nigerian Navy.
“Organisations in the various corporate categories of the award are Niger Dock, Shipside Dry Ltd., Bureau Veritas, American Bureau of Shipping, BW Offshore, Diolits Marine Services, MEDLOG Transport & Logistics, Ocean Deep Services Ltd, LTT Coastal & Marine Services Ltd.
“Also among are ENL Consortium, Niger Benue Transport Company Ltd, ECM Terminals, Charkin Maritime Academy, KOBO360, Peak Shipping Agency, Bricks Limited, Lead Way Assurance, AIICO General Insurance, NEM Insurance, Allianz Nigeria Insurance,” he said.

Da-silva noted that individuals nominated for the award are eminent maritime executives and professionals including Former Managing Director, Nigerian Port Authority, Adebayo Sarumi; Former Minister of Interior, Capt. Emmanuel Iheanacho; Chairman, Starzs Investment, Greg Ogbeifun.

Others he listed as President of the Nigerian Maritime Law Association, Mrs Olufunke Agbor, SAN; Chief Executive Officer, LADOL, Dr Amy Jadesimi; National President, Women in Energy, Oil and Gas (WEOG) Nigeria, Dr Oladunni Owo.
A former Director-General of the Nigerian Chamber of Shipping, Mrs Ify Akerele, also a member of the Panel of Judges for the Award, expressed excitement over the growing visibility of the impact made in the maritime sector.

“The award is part of all our collective achievement in the sector as it inspires more commitment to best practice, so I encourage all to support the initiative,” she said.

The OMIS Award aims to serve as a catalyst for the continued development of the sector through the appreciation of the most silent but incredible work that is being done by stakeholders.

It aims to highlight innovations and achievements in the field as well as raise awareness and beam the searchlight on important issues that do not always get the attention they deserve, and subsequently promote further improvement.

The award will hold on Sept. 24 at the Lagos Oriental Hotel.

NewsSourceCredit: NAN

analytics analytics