Connect with us

General news

2023: 394 candidates jostling for 40 Lagos Assembly seats in Lagos -INEC



House of Assembly

Ahead of the 2023 general elections, INEC in Lagos State says 394 candidates of  different political parties are jostling for the 40 seats in the state’s House of Assembly.

inet ventures blogger outreach latestnaijanews

News Agency

The News Agency of Nigeria recalls  that governorship and houses of assembly elections were scheduled to hold across the country on March 11, 2023.


Final List

According to the Final List of governorship and house of assembly candidates displayed on Wednesday at the commission’s office in Yaba,  16 candidates of different political parties are contesting for the  2023 governorship election in Lagos state.


Rose Oriaran-Anthony

The list was signed by Mrs Rose Oriaran-Anthony, the Secretary of INEC.

According to the list, the candidates for the assembly seats in Lagos state are contesting on the platform of 16 out of  the 18 registered political parties in the country.

Peoples Democratic Party

The list showed  that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the All Progressives Congress (APC), Action Democratic Party (ADP), Labour Party (LP) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) had  contestants in all the 40 state constituencies.

Action Alliance

While the  Action Alliance (AA) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) fielded candidates in 36 state constituencies each, the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Boot Party (BP) had candidates for  34 state constituencies each.

African Action Congress

The African Action Congress (AAC) is contesting in 21 state constituencies while Accord (A), Action People’s Party (APP), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), National Rescue Movement (NRM), Young Progressives Party (YPP) and People’s Redemption Party (PRP) filed candidates  in less than 10 state constituencies each.

All Progressives Grand Alliance

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) did not field candidates for the state assembly election in the state.

NAN reports that the governorship list shows that only 16 of the 18 registered political parties fielded contestants, out of which only two candidates are female while the remaining 14 are male.

Funmilayo Kupokiyi

Only candidates of APM and APP are female, Mrs Funmilayo Kupokiyi, 51, and Mrs Abiola Adeyemi, 44 respectively.

Messrs Dickson Olaogun

The other governorship candidates are Messrs Dickson Olaogun (A), Abdulrasaq Balogun (AA), Akeem Olayiwola (AAC), Olufunso Doherty( ADC), Bamidele Ishola (ADP), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC), Olawale Oluwo (BP), Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour (LP) and Olanrewaju Jim-Kamal (NNPP).

Braithwaite Ishola

Others are: Braithwaite Ishola (NRM), Olajide Adediran (PDP), Taofeek Uthman (SDP), Wasiu Ajayi (YPP) and Adenipebi Mode-Adekunle (ZLP).

APGA-and PRP did not  field candidates for the governorship seat in the list published  for the 2023 general elections.

Accord Party

According to the list, Olaogun (65) of Accord Party is oldest while Rhodes-Vivour (39) of LP is the youngest.

NewsSourceCredit: NAN

saharahausa best shortner PuhuTV downloader

NNN is an online news portal that publishes breaking news in around the world. Contact: editor @ Disclaimer.